Connect with us


U.S. won’t punish countries for now, but threat remains



U.S. won't punish countries for now

U.S. won’t punish countries for now

For now, the United States is not punishing countries for special taxes on Internet companies. Any additional trade restrictions for Britain, India, Turkey and three EU countries will be suspended by six months. In the meantime, the U.S. government wants to work to resolve a dispute with the countries over the digitaks.

This is a thorny issue in the international negotiations on corporate taxation. Washington said its tax policies would discriminate against major U.S. technology companies such as Apple, Amazon, Google and Facebook. But the UK government has previously indicated that if the US wants support for a global minimum rate of corporate tax, US tech companies must also make a fair contribution. (U.S. won’t punish countries for now)

Earlier, the US also threatened action against the EU over plans for such taxes. But the Americans saw that off in March. Trade tariffs have also already been suspended for France.


Only EU Member States Italy, Spain and Austria had to take into account American retaliation for their tax policies. The threat of new trade barriers at the US border had also been removed for Brazil, the Czech Republic and Indonesia. They ultimately did not pass or introduce any laws for some form of digitaks.

MORE@AFRILATEST U.S. won’t punish countries for now



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Copyright © Afrilatest Media