Connect with us



European Union countries

The presidents of eight European countries issued a joint letter on Monday asking the other EU member states to immediately talk about granting candidate membership status to Ukraine. 

Ukrainian President Volodomyr Zelensky on Monday asked to join the union immediately.

These are the heads of government of Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Slovakia and Slovenia. “We believe that Ukraine immediately deserves to be given an EU future perspective,” the countries said.


Zelensky demanded in a video address on Monday that Ukraine be admitted to the country bloc through a new special procedure. He sent an official request for admission to the EU on Monday. “Our goal is to belong to all Europeans, and – most importantly – to be equal,” Zelensky said. “I’m sure that’s fair. I’m sure we deserve it.”

Eight European Union countries want to talk immediately about giving Ukraine candidate member status

Eight European Union countries want to talk

European Commission President Ursula von der Leyen spoke out in favor of Ukraine’s accession on Sunday. “In time they will indeed belong to us,” she said. Ultimately, the 27 member states, including the Netherlands, decide on the accession of new member states. All members must agree on this.

The Netherlands is one of the countries that is not yet interested in talking about expanding the EU with Ukraine, Prime Minister Mark Rutte told the House of Representatives on Monday. 

Joe Biden to double tax on capital gains for the rich

He says it is “not a good discussion” to talk about this now. Enlargement of the EU is a very complex, time-consuming and complicated process, according to Rutte. “I think it’s better now to focus on the shorter term.”


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *