Connect with us



Follow Us

Follow Us @

Gavi wins Kopa Trophy – FC Barcelona midfielder Gavi won the Kopa Trophy, the award for best player under the age of 21, during the Golden Ball gala in Paris on Monday. The Spaniard trumped, among others, former Ajax player Ryan Gravenberch. Thibaut Courtois can call himself the best goalkeeper of the previous season.

FC Barcelona talent Gavi wins Kopa Trophy

The only eighteen-year-old Gavi made his debut in the main squad of Barcelona in the summer of 2021 under then coach Ronald Koeman and came in his first season already to 47 official matches. He was good for two goals and six assists.

Gavi had competition in the battle for the Kopa Trophy from nine other nominees, including Gravenberch, who finished sixth. Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid) and Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich) finished second and third.

Everton leave relegation zone in Premier League, Arsenal close to CL ticket

The twenty-year-old Gravenberch became champion with Ajax last season as a regular base player and reached the cup final with the Amsterdam team, which was lost to PSV. The midfielder made the switch to Bayern Munich last summer.


It was the second year in a row that Gravenberch had a chance to win the prize for talent of the year. The Kopa Trophy was also won last year by a midfielder from FC Barcelona: Pedri received the most votes.

The ten nominees for the Kopa Trophy

  • Ryan Gravenberch (Bayern Munich). Karim Adeyemi (Borussia Dortmund), Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Eduardo Camavinga (Real Madrid), Nuno Mendes (Paris Saint-Germain), Jamal Musiala (Bayern Munich), Josko Gvardiol (RB Leipzig), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Florian Wirtz (Bayern Leverkusen), Gavi (FC Barcelona)
FC Barcelona talent Gavi wins Kopa Trophy

Courtois wins Yashin Trophy for best goalkeeper of the season

Courtois won the Yashin Trophy, the award for the best goalkeeper of the season. The Belgian was one of the standouts at Real Madrid, with which he became national champion and won the Champions League. In the final of the million-dollar ball against Liverpool, Courtois played a hero role with countless saves.

The thirty-year-old Courtois was preferred to, among others, Alisson Becker (Liverpool) and Ederson (Manchester City. Alisson won the award in 2019 and Jan Oblak could call himself the best goalkeeper in the world over the 2020/2021 season. In 2020, the Golden Ball gala was cancelled due to the corona pandemic.

Ajax easily beat Cambuur after turbulent transfer days, Ocampos makes his debut

The Yashin Trophy, named after legendary Russian goalkeeper Lev Yashin, was awarded on Monday evening by former Ajax player Sébastien Haller. The Borussia Dortmund striker was diagnosed with a tumor in his testicle last summer.

The ten nominees for the Yashin Trophy

  • Yassine Bounou (Sevilla), Alisson Becker (Liverpool), Thibaut Courtois (Real Madrid), Ederson (Manchester City), Mike Maignan (AC Milan), Édouard Mendy (Chelsea), Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich), Jan Oblak (Atlético Madrid), Kevin Trapp (Eintracht Frankfurt), Hugo Lloris (Tottenham)

FC Barcelona talent Gavi wins Kopa Trophy

Lewandowski wins Müller Trophy as highest scoring player

Robert Lewandowski was presented with the so-called Müller Trophy. The award goes to the striker who has scored the most goals for his club and country in one season. Lewandowski was good for no less than fifty goals on behalf of Bayern Munich. The Polish striker, who left for FC Barcelona last summer, also scored seven times for his country.

The award is named after legendary striker Gerd Müller, one of the greatest German footballers of all time. He passed away in August 2021 at the age of 75.


Sadio Mané, the number two in the Golden Ball election, won the Socrates Award. The prize was created to reward a player who has made a lot of efforts for society. Bayern Munich forward Mane is recognised for his charity work in his native Senegal.

Ajax fan stabbed in Naples in the run-up to Champions League match

The awards are all part of the Golden Ball election in Paris, organized by the French magazine France Football. Real Madrid striker Karim Benzema won his first Ballon d’Or. Among the women, Alexis Putellas received the most votes from the captains, national coaches and renowned journalists.


Be the first to leave us a comment, down the comment section. click allow to follow this topic and get firsthand daily updates.


Get Answers to all of this following question

FC Barcelona talent Gavi wins Kopa Trophy

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *